Pennsylvania Family Law Blog

Family law news and analysis, published by Mark E. Jakubik

Collaborative divorce – the team approach

leave a comment »

My initial training as a lawyer was as a litigator, and for a long time that training colored how I analyzedmy clients legal issues and also impacted the advice that I gave. As family law practice has come to dominate my practice, I have realized that the adversary, litigation oriented way of practice is often, and perhaps most often, not the best for the client. The movement towards collaborative divorce represents a recognition that, where a family is involved, litigation and adversary proceedings may be more salt in the wounds than oil on the water. This article from the newsletter of the Young Lawyers’ Division of the American Bar Association is a pretty good introductory primer on the subject. I expect to post a good bit more on this very important subject in the future.

Source: ABA Young Lawyers’ Division, via Grant Griffiths’ Kansas Family & Divorce Lawyer

Written by Mark Jakubik

December 20, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Leave a comment